Friendships

I’ve always been the sentimental type of girl. Yeah, I cry at the movies, I dream with fairytale endings and I always hope for a happy ending to every relationship I’ve ever been in. Now, I’m not just talking about relationships with the guys I date, but with friends and family members. I can’t count how many friendships that I’ve had that have ended. Some ended smoothly and some so rough that I didn’t know what was wrong with me. Well, the fact of the matter is, we grow out of people. We just grow up in general. I’m not saying that the friendships I’ve had that have failed were a waste of my time or anything close to that. In fact, I adore every relationship I’ve ever been in. Those relationships helped mold me into the person I am today. I’m not saying you grow out of all the relationships you gain. Some relationships last you for the rest of your life.

Friends (photo via Flicker by Oape)

Friends (photo via Flicker by Oape)

My freshman college roommate and I grew up together in a small town. She was the first friend I had that stayed the night with me in elementary school. It was fitting for us to make all the big leaps together. College was the biggest step I had ever taken, and honestly I know that I couldn’t have done it without her there. She saw me at my worst and my best and loved me anyway. I’d come home crying about some silly boy, and she was always there to comfort me. I know that relationship will always be there. I’ll always have her. Some relationships are unexpected. Usually those ones that sneak up on you are the best you’ve ever been in.

My best friend was the last thing I had expected. While I was so upset about some other personal issues (ex-boyfriend problems) he was there to comfort me. Possibly because we were both damaged, and it just felt nice to know that we weren’t the only ones feeling so miserable. Soon enough we realized that we were, well, perfect for each other.

Those ex-boyfriend problems that led me to my best friend also led me to a whole group of guys that are very dear to my heart. One of the guys would eat lunch with me every single day and listen to my problems, and boy, did I have a lot of them.

So, be open to change. Be open to the people that you really never expect. They might become the people that mean the most to you.

One thought on “Friendships

Leave a Reply

