Straight Outta Compton

As I walked into the chilly movie theater in Oklahoma City this weekend with my boyfriend, I had no idea what I was about to watch. He had been so excited about seeing this movie that honestly, I hadn’t given much thought. In fact, I was kind of… well, almost dreading this movie. Now don’t get me wrong, I love rappers and I love their art, but a movie about them made me have mixed emotions. I had no idea that this movie was going to blow me away like the way it did.

F. Gary Gray, the director of the film Straight Outta Compton used amazing techniques when directing this film. Some might argue that it is what made the movie such a success. Without the proper camera shots and sequences, this film could have been considered low quality and trashy. Gray did the exact opposite with his directing. I believe that Gray wanted to let viewers feel like they were actually living the life people in Compton have.

Straight Outta Compton movie ad. (Photo via Flikr by The MovieSpace)

Straight Outta Compton movie ad. (Photo via Flikr by The MovieSpace)

Nope, I have never been to Compton or any place like it, but this film showed the roughness, truth, heart and soul of a place like that. On top of that, I highly doubt any of the artists would have let the director direct anything but the truth about their story. Now while I do believe there were certain tweaks to scenes, just like every film, I think Gray really stuck with what the men went through.

If you like music, you will enjoy this motion picture. Even if you aren’t the biggest fan of rap music, you will still enjoy watching the process these artists had to go through. It shows Ice Cube sitting on a school bus writing lyrics to a song when he was still in high school and now look at him. He is appearing on ESPN to talk about sports and crack jokes. Honestly, I had no clue their lives had been so rough. That’s what really makes this movie so intriguing. You watch these men grow apart and grow together all at the same time.

Let’s not forget about the actors!! Casting did not settle on a single actor in the film. When you look at those actors, it is easy to know who is supposed to betray who by just looking at them. It’s not all about looks, though. These actors put their heart into making this movie. I even cried in this rugged film. You know the acting is good when I start crying!

All together this is a great film for adults.. even if you don’t even like movies!! So, grab a lover, a friend or a complete stranger and watch this life changing film.

Leave a Reply

